Tags

, , , , , ,

So, I have a few projects to do around the house and I want to share them with you and hopefully I can help, inspire, or get advice from my family and friends.  In the meantime, you can check out the house from my Pinterest so you can get a feel for what I am dealing with.

Here is the house with furniture from the listing and from my several visits with my realtor Edward Felton: http://pinterest.com/thetwistedcow/osborne/

I am spending some time in my new space to get a few things set up before my official move. Today was filled with folks coming and going for various reasons..mainly to get the minor things fixed and to get the place clean enough for me to move in. I could have done the cleaning myself, but really…my time is better spent doing other things and besides I am helping out the economy by keeping someone employed!

So, the first official project for my house is my Woman Cave / Sewing Studio. The plan is to pull up the current flooring (a combination of carpet and laminate flooring). The current set up of the floor from the previous owners is not bad, but it does not work for what I want.

I just love the brick wall – what character!!  So, the brick wall is staying and I am thinking about painting the walls a snow white / bright white.  The reasoning behind it is so that my fabrics and ribbons will pop and I can find what I am looking for rather quickly.

I have been gathering up color schemes from this fabulous site called Design Seeds – love this site!! Here are my ideas for color schemes: http://pinterest.com/thetwistedcow/woman-cave/

THE MASTER PLAN – DUM DUM DDDDDUUUUMMMMMM

1. Remove the current flooring.  At first I was so darn ‘gung ho’ and then after pulling about 8 feet of the carpet up, that sh*t is heavy!! So, decided once again to help keep the economy moving…hired a contractor to remove the stuff.  The steps are carpeted too, so…
This is the left side of the basement flooring.  I started to pull it up and then realized it was too much work...hired someone to remove it!

 
IMG_0032

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2. Clean, patch up, and etch the cement floor…I think it is in that order. Thank God this is a finished basement with no moisture problems.  Etching is basically, roughing up the surface of the concrete so that the paint will stick.
3. Paint the floor. The main issue with this is…I have no idea what color I want to work with.
4. Stencil the floor. Still looking for the right stencil.
5. Seal the floor to withstand me and my dog Chet. Should probably put several coats of sealant on the floor…we are both terrible 🙂
6. Install shelving (found these raw/no finish wood shelves at Ikea!) http://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/S79894563/

 

IVAR 3 sections/shelves IKEA Untreated solid pine is a durable natural material that can be painted, oiled or stained according to preference.

7. Paint the shelves. White seems to be my color.  It keeps the basement light and airy.
8. Fill the room with my crap. Nuff said!

I know that I need to make some curtains and figure out how to install / design a dowel system for my ribbons and trims that are still on spools for easy spotting.  Additionally, a chalk board and cork wall is in order to keep track of orders and requests.

This should be fun and a lot of work, but there will be picture and some angry notes when things do not go my way.

